Migrating south

I’m off on holiday!

Tomorrow morning I fly down to Birmingham, pick up a hire car, and head off to the West Country to visit family and friends in Bath and Bristol – my old stomping ground, where I lived for the best part of 20 years.

Bizarrely, I’m really looking forward to the driving as much as anything else (so long as the hire car’s OK, that is). In another life, I had a lovely (if somewhat naff) little MGF, and I loved doing long drives in it. I well remember doing the journey from Cambridge to Bath, heading across for the weekend to visit my mum, iPod on shuffle, singing along all the way. OK, the M4 has to be one of the worst motorways in the country, definitely the worst I’ve come across for middle-lane hoggers, but even so, I loved the freedom and just driving in my little car.

Of course, it’s been a while now since I’ve had much to do with traffic and motorways, or have had to deal with the nightmare of the massively overcrowded M4 corridor. The worst causes of road rage I come across these days are tourists who don’t wave to say thank you when you’ve pulled into a passing place to let them by on single track roads.

I’ll let you know how I get on…

Leave a comment